Header graphic for print
HL Chronicle of Data Protection Privacy & Information Security News & Trends
Posted in News & Events

Webinar Invitation — Operationalizing the California Consumer Privacy Act

Please join the Hogan Lovells Privacy and Cybersecurity team and LexisNexis on June 19 for the webinar, Operationalizing the California Consumer Privacy Act – Key Decisions and Compliance Strategies.

The California Consumer Privacy Act of 2018 (CCPA) has been described as groundbreaking, watershed, and unprecedented since its passage on June 28, 2018. As the first broad-based state law on consumers’ personal data in the U.S., this important legislation does indeed pose significant compliance challenges for organizations that engage with residents of California, the world’s fifth largest economy. In this presentation, Hogan Lovells partners Mark Brennan and Bret Cohen will explore the impact of the CCPA including:

  • Key terms used by the law that are fundamental to planning compliance – including broad definitions of “personal information” and “sale”;
  • How the act will interact with existing regulations covering organizations in healthcare, financial services, and beyond;
  • The new private right of action established by the law;
  • A comparison of the CCPA to Europe’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), including learnings from GDPR compliance that can be applied in the United States.

We hope you can join us for a discussion with Mark Brennan and Bret Cohen.

Date:
Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Time:
2:00 p.m. EST
1:00 p.m. CDT
11:00 a.m. PDT
7:00 p.m. CET

To register for the webinar, click here.