Header graphic for print
HL Chronicle of Data Protection Privacy & Information Security News & Trends
Posted in News & Events

Webinar Invitation — Cyberthreats in the Internet of Things

Allison Holt Ryan

Paul Otto

Nathan Salminen

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please join the Hogan Lovells Privacy and Cybersecurity and Litigation teams on July 16th for our webinar, Cyberthreats in the Internet of Things. We will explore some techniques that can be used to exploit potential vulnerabilities in connected devices and how those types of events impact organizations from a regulatory and litigation perspective.

Many of the nearly 20 billion Internet of Things (IoT) devices deployed worldwide perform critical functions or have access to networks that process highly sensitive information. The proliferation of connected devices across industry sectors has led to the emergence of a significant and distinct threat to many types of organizations, from electric utilities deploying IoT devices across its smart grid to financial institutions using IoT devices in conference rooms that may connect to the same network that financial data flows through.

Nathan Salminen, Allison Holt, and Paul Otto will discuss unique litigation and technical risks related to the IoT ecosystem. The discussion will include some of the technical aspects of hacking threats to connected devices, how those threats may differ from other cyberthreats, and the legal implications of such threats.

We will also explore:

  • Different types of hacks and how they may be exploited in the IoT space;
  • Ways that compromised IoT devices can present unique types of security risks;
  • Unique legal implications of IoT cyberthreats; and
  • Litigation risks and strategies.

We hope you can join us for a discussion with Allison Holt Ryan, Paul Otto, and Nathan Salminen.

Date:
Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Time:
14:00 EST
19:00 BST
20:00 CEST

To register for the webinar, click here.