Header graphic for print
HL Chronicle of Data Protection Privacy & Information Security News & Trends
Posted in News & Events

Webinar on Hacking 101: How it works and how to mitigate risk

Please join the Hogan Lovells Privacy and Cybersecurity team on May 15 for our webinar, Hacking 101: How it Works and How to Mitigate Risk. We will explore how certain common hacks work from a technical perspective and how to mitigate related risks from a legal and compliance perspective.

Cyberattacks have become a top-of-mind risk for many organizations. Lawyers, privacy officers, compliance officers, and executives are key figures in helping manage such risks, but many may not understand how various hacks work. Understanding the technical details of how certain common hacks work can prepare you for everything from drafting policies and agreements to managing compliance and incident response efforts. In this webinar, we aim to better equip you to be able to peel back the surface of the technical details to better understand how those details might affect a company’s obligations and risks.

This webinar is for all audiences, whether you have a technical background or not. We will give examples of known techniques cyberattackers use to compromise applications remotely, look at samples of code that may be vulnerable, and explain what is going on inside the application that makes these attacks viable. We will cover man-in-the-middle attacks, client side attacks, SQL injection, and buffer overflows. And we intend to address those topics in a way that will make sense to lawyers and executives, as well as IT and security professionals.

We will also explore:

  • Different types of hacks and how they may be exploited
  • Legal data security obligations under the:
    • European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
    • Federal Trade Commission Act (FTC Act)
    • California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA)
    • Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)
  • Cybersecurity risk management and compliance strategies
  • Litigation risks and strategies

We hope you can join us for a discussion with Bret Cohen, Lillian Hardy, Paul Otto, and Nathan Salminen.

Date:
Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Time:
12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EST
11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CDT
9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. PDT
6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CET

CLE credit will be offered for webinar attendance. To register for the webinar, click here.